Aligarh Muslim University (AMU)

Aligarh Muslim University is a result of hard work of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, the great Muslim reformer and statesman, who felt that it was important for Muslims to gain education and become involved in the public life and government services in India. In 1877, Sir Syed founded the Muhammadan Anglo Oriental College in Aligarh and patterned the college after Oxford and Cambridge universities. A proposal for an independent University was floated by Sir Syed's son upon his return from England in 1872. This proposal was adopted and subsequently modified. Syed Mahmood continued to work along with his father in founding the college.

It was one of the first purely residential educational institutions set up either by the government or the public in India. Over the years it gave rise to a new educated class of Indian Muslims who were active in the political system of the British Raj. 

The college was originally affiliated with the University of Calcutta and subsequently got affiliated with the University of Allahabad in 1885. By 1920 the college was transformed into the Aligarh Muslim University.

The university now has 12 faculties comprising 98 teaching departments, 3 academies and 15 centres and institution. A special feature of the university is its residential character with most of the staff and students residing on the campus. There are 19 halls of residence for students with 80 hostels.

Apart from the conventional Under graduate and Post graduate courses in Social Sciences, Sciences and Humanities, the university keeps pace with the nations growth by offering facilities for specialized learning in areas of technical, vocational and inter- disciplinary studies. It has the Zakir Hussain College of Engineering and Technology, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Dr. Ziauddin Dental College, Institute of Ophthalmology, Food Craft Institute, Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit, Centre of Advance Study in History, Department of West Asian Studies, Centre of Wildlife, Centre for South African & Brazilian Studies, Department of Islamic Studies, Academic Staff College, Women's College, Ajmal Khan Tibbiya College, University Polytechnic –separately for boys and girls and Computer Centre etc.

The university has opened two new centres of study outside Aligarh one at Murshidabad, West Bengal and the other at Mallapurum at Kerala state. At present teaching facility of MBA and Integrated Law course is available in these two centres. It is projected that in ten years down the time line both the centres will have more than 10,000 students each in advance study and research.

Academic Colleges in AMU

  • J. N. Medical College
  • Zakir Hussain College of Engineering and Technology
  • Women's College
  • DR. Ziauddin Ahmad Dental College
  • A. K. Tibbya College
  • Academic Staff College
  • Community College

List of Centres in AMU

  • Centre for Advanced Studies in History
  • Centre for Women Studies
  • Centre for Nehru Studies
  • Centre for Nehru Studies
  • Centre of Professional Studies
Polytechnic Colleges in AMU
  • Mens Polytechnic College
  • Womens Polytechnic

Institutes in AMU

  • Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit
  • Institute of Ophthalmology
  • Institute of Persian Research

Admission in AMU

The Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) release detailed admission notification for various programmes. For latest updates see EducationNews.Shiksha

AMU Library

The Maulana Azad Library is the library of the university. It consists of a central library and over 100 departmental and college libraries. It houses royal decrees of Mughal emperors such as Babur, Akbar and Shahjahan which are highlights of the collection.

Contact Details

Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh 202001
Public Relation Officer

Connect me with the Top Colleges