Banaras Hindu University

Banaras Hindu University (BHU) is an internationally reputed university of learning created under the Parliamentary legislation - B.H.U. Act 1915. It was established in 1916 by Madan Mohan Malaviya.  The foundation for the main campus of the university was laid by Lord Hardinge, the then Viceroy of India, on Vasant Panchami 4 February 1916. To promote the university's expansion, Malviya invited eminent guest speakers such as Mahatma Gandhi, Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose, Prof C. V. Raman, Prafulla Chandra Roy, Prof Sam Higginbottom, Sir Patrick Geddes, and Besant to deliver a series of what are now called The University Extension Lectures between 5–8 February 1916. Gandhi's lecture on the occasion was his first public address in India

The university comprises 3 Institutes, 14 Faculties 140 Departments, 4 Inter disciplinary centers a constituent college for women's and 3 Constituents Schools, spanning a vast range of subjects pertaining to all branches of humanities,social science,technology, medicine ,science, fine arts and performing arts. 

It has 6 centres of Advanced Studies, 10 Departments under Special Assistance Programme and a large number of specialized Research Centers. Four Degree Colleges of the city are affiliated to the University. Bharat Kala Bhavan, the reputed museum of the university, is a treasure trove of rare collections. 

The University family consists of 15000 students belonging to all streams of life, castes and religions and races, about 1700 teachers, and nearly 8000 non-teaching staff A large number of students from foreign countries like the U.S.A, the countries of Europe, Asia, Middle East, Africa etc., come to study here. The university has taken a leadership role in promoting new ideas, the spirit of integration of the world, and cultivation of intellect and culture.

Institutes in Banaras Hindu University

  • Institute of Science
  • Institute of Medical Sciences
  • Institute of Agricultural Sciences
  • Institute of Management Studies
  • Institute of Environment and Sustainable Development
  • Institute of Technology

Affiliated Colleges of BHU

  • Arya Mahila PG College
  • DAV Degree College
  • Vasant Kanya Mahavidyalaya
  • Vasant College for Women

Courses in BHU

BHU offers undergraduate, postgraduate, doctoral and diploma courses through its various faculties:
  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Performing Arts
  • Faculty of Social Science
  • Faculty of Sanskrit Vidya Dharma Vijnan Sankaya
  • Faculty of Visual Arts
Contact Details

Banaras Hindu University,

Connect me with the Top Colleges