Indian Institute of Technology IIT (BHU) Varanasi

Founded in 1919 as the Banaras Engineering College, it became the Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University in 1968 and an Indian Institute of Technology in 2012. Currently it has 14 departments and three inter-disciplinary schools. It was also known as the College of Mining and Metallurgy (MINMET), the College of Technology (TECHNO) and the Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University (IT-BHU). Its establishment is intimately linked with that of the Banaras Hindu University (BHU). 

IIT BHU Programs

Four-Year B.Tech. Programmes are offered by the Institute in the following departments: 
  • Ceramic Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Electronics Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering 
  • Pharmaceutics Engineering & Technology
Five-Year Dual Degree (IDD: B.Tech. & M.Tech.) Programmes
  • B.Tech. in Ceramic Engineering and M.Tech. in Ceramic Engineering
  • B.Tech. in Computer Science & Engineering and M.Tech. in Computer Science & Engineering)
  • B.Tech. in Civil Engineering and M.Tech. in Civil Engineering
  • B.Tech. in Electrical Engineering and M.Tech. in Power Electronics
  • B.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering and M.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering
  • B.Tech. in Metallurgical Engineering and M.Tech. in Metallurgical Engineering
  • B.Tech. in Mining Engineering and M.Tech. in Mining Engineering
  • B.Tech. Biochemical Engineering and M.Tech. in Biochemical Engineering & Biotechnology
  • B.Tech. in Bioengineering and M.Tech. in Biomedical Technology
  • B.Tech. in Materials Science & Technology and M.Tech. in Materials Science & Technology
  • B.Tech. in Pharmaceutical Engineering & Technology and M.Tech. in Pharmaceutical Engineering & Technology
  • B.Tech. in Industrial Chemistry and M.Tech. in Industrial Chemistry
  • in Mathematics & Computing and M.Tech. in Mathematics &  Computing
  • B.Tech. in Engineering Physics and M.Tech. in Engineering Physics
Undergraduate admission is through JEE Advanced.

Two-Year Postgraduate Programmes
  • M.Tech. in Biochemical Engineering
  • M.Tech. in Biomedical Engineering
  • M.Tech. in Ceramic Engineering
  • M.Tech. in Chemical Engineering
  • M.Tech. in Civil Engineering (Hydraulics and Water Resources Engg., Geotechnical Engineering, Structural Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Transportation Engineering, Engineering Geosciences and Geoinformatics Engineering)
  • M.Tech. in Electrical Engineering (Power Systems, Electrical Machines and Drives, Control Systems and Power Electronics)
  • M.Tech. in Electronics Engineering (Microwave Engineering, Digital Techniques and Instrumentation, Microelectronics and Communication Systems Engineering)
  • M.Tech. in Industrial Management
  • M.Tech. in Materials Science & Tech.
  • M.Tech. in Mechanical Engineering (Machine Design, Heat Power Engineering and Production Engineering)
  • M.Tech. in Metallurgical Engineering (Extractive Metallurgy and Alloy Technology)
  • M.Tech. in Mining Engineering (Mine Environment, Rock Mechanics and Mine Planning)
  • M.Tech. in Systems Engineering
  • M.Pharm. (Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacology and Pharmacognosy)
Ph.D. Programmes

Ph.D. programme is offered by all academic departments and schools of the IIT BHU Varanasi. All Ph.D. Programmes are with course work of specified credits.

Contact Details

Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) BHU
Semi Cir Rd Number 2, Banaras Hindu University Campus, 
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh 221005

Connect me with the Top Colleges